Monday 5: Memorial Day edition

IMG_7851

Don’t you wish every Monday was a long weekend Monday? Holidays are the bomb (and definitely something to be excited about).

The past two days had some fun outings that included a pops concert put on by Charleston Symphony Orchestra downtown Charleston (the perfect weather and free entry were definitely perks), a violin recital for my little violin students and a game night on Saturday evening.

The pops concert was part of the annual music and art festival held in Charleston this time of year called Piccolo Spoleto. Over a couple of weeks a plethora of dance, music and art events take place – all open to Charleston public and visitors. The pops concert is great because it’s outdoors, FREE, and you can bring a picnic (including wine/champagne etc) and just sit and enjoy the music. It’s very family (and young, financially struggling millennial) friendly.

Sunday I came to Cleveland where we met up with some of Nicholas’ friends a played a really fun game called The Game of Things (I’m typically not good at games/intimidated by them but this one is easy and low-key which I appreciated). This morning we came downtown where we will ride bikes in the afternoon and then go to an Indians game (#thingsI’dneverthoughtI’dsay)!

In honor of this holiday, I came up with 5 things that I’m excited about regarding the great country we live in…U.S of A. I hope your long weekend is lovely and restful and at least a little patriotic.

Safety

I know not every nook and cranny of the U.S. is super safe. But I think compared to a lot of other countries the U.S. has a pretty strong security system- locally and at the national level. I’ve never been particularly worried walking around town – even at night- or remotely thought about something horrible happening to myself or someone in my family. On the other hand, my home country Venezuela is experiencing some extreme security threats where the average person is scared to wear a watch when they leave the house lest they be mugged or worse. Seeing what people are experiencing there has made me especially grateful to live somewhere so well protected that I can walk out of the house – wearing all the jewelry I want – and not worry about it being stolen or getting hurt. Living somewhere safe really is a privilege that is easy to take for granted.

Country music

I used to not enjoy country music at all. In fact, if anything I had a fair amount of disdain toward it. However a few years ago due to the efforts of my sister (mainly her refusal to listen to anything other than country music in the car) I am now an avid country listener. I love how clean most of the songs are, the themes behind the songs and how they often tell a story. Catchy, laid back and definitely very American.

Diversity

One of the really cool things about living in the ‘melting pot’ that is the U.S. is that we can enjoy a variety of food, music, art and people without leaving our hometown. I love meeting people from different countries and learning a little about their culture. I think every country has something to teach us and a way to enrich our own lives and culture. Living in a place where so many different cultures are immersed into our own is such a unique feature and definitely something I am grateful for.

Equality

I think most of us know this already, but the U.S. really is one of the best places to be a woman. Things like voting, driving a car, choosing who we marry, working, wearing what we want…we may take these for granted (I know I do) but the reality is that many women in other places don’t have any of these rights. We have laws that protect us and grant us equal status as men. This may seem like a no-brainer but the freedom we have definitely isn’t something all women enjoy. I’m excited to use these rights we have to make a positive difference and make the most out of our freedom.

Baseball

I know baseball isn’t strictly an American thing (in fact, Venezuelans are huge on baseball). However, I think there is something very patriotic and All-American about baseball. It has a charm and nostalgia that is kind of unique. I am not remotely a sports person; I regularly confuse teams and have little idea of what the major premises of most sports even are. BUT since I started going to Riverdog’s games in Charleston, I’ve really come to appreciate the ambiance of a baseball game and the fun social event that it can be. I think it is more laid back than football games (which scare me) and the perfect scene for a cold drink, fun conversation and spending time with friends/family. I’m excited for the Indian’s game this afternoon and more baseball games happening this summer and in years to come.

Happy short week everyone!

xo

Miranda

One thought on “Monday 5: Memorial Day edition

Leave a Reply

