‘No such thing as a broken heart’ & other things to be excited about this week.

gabor-juhasz-68424

This weekend flew by. Literally. I don’t know what happened (okay not literally, but it went by really fast). My brother and I took the train to visit our dad in North Carolina for Easter and had a really nice visit catching up with him and some other people we know in the area. We also went to see Kong which was I think pretty well done (I’m not a movie critic) but a little violent for my taste…I typically stick to Pixar films.

I hope your weekend didn’t go by too fast, I know Monday’s always seem to sneak up on me (this one definitely did). In any case, here are some things I’m excited about this week that might make you feel a little more lively too.

No such thing as a broken heart – Old Dominion

Okay, I know I probably say this about every song I put in my Monday 5’s, but I’m seriously obsessed with this song by Old Dominion. It’s so darn cute. And I think it has a lot of truth to it too. With all the skepticism out there about relationships and marriages lasting, I think this more optimistic outlook gives us a healthy dose of ‘it’s going to work out’ that our generation really needs. My favorite line is: “you gotta treat your life like a rope swing baby ’cause the whole thing’s really just a shot in the dark…you gotta love like there’s no such thing as a broken heart.” #carefree

Jimmy Fallon hashtags

I think Jimmy Fallon is so funny. These past few weeks I’ve been watching his Hashtag videos almost daily. They’re so great! The videos are really short so it’s the perfect pick-me-up between tasks or after work when you’re feeling a little low energy. I think laughter really is the best medicine and I’m grateful for good comedians who can provide us with a good laugh! This one is one my favorites.

The Great British Baking show

This was recommended to me a few weeks ago and I finally got around to watching a couple of episodes. It’s so good! I love to bake so seeing people who actually know what they are doing is both incredibly helpful and inspiring. Some of the contestants on there are such cool people, hearing their stories is encouraging and impressive.

Warning: Do NOT watch when hungry.

Maxi dress

When I first started to realize that long skirts and dresses were coming back in, I was pretty dismayed. Being under 5’2 makes long skirts and dresses virtually impossible to find in the appropriate length and aren’t always super flattering. That being said, I absolutely love the idea of long dresses, I think they are so romantic and feminine! I finally came across a maxi dress I fell in love with at TJ Maxx last week (any Maxxinistas out there?!) and am really excited about. Of course I had to get it hemmed but I can’t wait to wear it (and not trip).

Easter

Easter is such a wonderful celebration. I love how hopeful and excited this time of year is. Especially since it takes place in the Spring time, it brings with it a sense of a fresh start and clean slate that can be so renewing. Easter reminds us that there is so much good in life and so much to be thankful for. While there is certainly suffering, there is also victory…and we’re invited to partake in that and live life fully because of it.

Here’s to a wonderful, joyful, carefree week ahead.

xo
Miranda

 

Leave a Reply

