Monday 5: Fairy tales & other things to be excited about this week

photo-nic-co-uk-nic-119470

This weekend was one of those jam-packed one’s that you wish could last forever. I spent most of Saturday helping out with a retreat for high school students at a beautiful place a little outside of Mount Pleasant called Windwood Farms. Surrounded by marsh, this enormous farm was the perfect place to enjoy the Spring weather. Walking around the property and chatting on the boardwalk was lovely.

Later that afternoon I got a blowout (for the first time in a whiiiiileee) and that night we had a soiree at a beautiful home in old Mount Pleasant. There are few things I find more relaxing than getting your hair done (or ‘did’, if you live in the south). It was good for me to have to just sit and do nothing for forty minutes, too…sitting still is not something I have a talent for and desperately need to practice.

The soiree was also super fun, we were able to listen to some beautiful music played by violin, viola and cello students, in addition to enjoying some good food and wine (what else could you need?)

Sunday I headed to Cleveland (aka Believeland) and am excited to feature some highlights from my trip (which is still ongoing) in next week’s five.

After that somewhat extended intro, here is this week’s 5! I hope your weekend was enjoyable and your Monday not too bleary.

Peanut butter chicken

Peanut butter is one of those things that I feel grateful for regularly. It’s just so good! Obviously it is delicious, but also filling and (can be) pretty nutritious. I was kind of surprised when I was told of this recipe for peanut butter chicken but I’m so glad I tried it! It is so simple which I love and there aren’t too many ingredients, and it makes a fair amount (having men in the house is expensive). If anyone wants the recipe please comment and I’d be happy to share 🙂

Human growth and development course

A few weeks ago I started my fourth course for my master’s and am really loving it. as the name suggests, we go through the process of the growth of the person. It is so fascinating and really incredible to understand how a person comes to be and how important those formative years are! Our first relationships with our parents have proven to be especially imperative to our emotional development, not just physical. Learning about the mother-father relationship, mother-child relationship and father-child relationship, you see the enormous value of the family and the irreplaceable role it plays in our lives.

This Chesterton quote

“Fairy tales are more than true. Not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” G.K. Chesterton

I came across this quote thanks to Verily’s Instagram and immediately fell in love. I think today we can be so jaded about happy endings and dreams coming true (as cheesy as that sounds) we forget that the desire for happy endings is written on our hearts for a reason…it’s what we are made for. We all hear that life isn’t a fairy tale, but while none of us are off fighting dragons, we do face challenges and continue striving for the happiness we are oriented toward…not too unlike Cinderella or Snow White. It’s okay to believe in fairy tales, I don’t think they’re too, too far from what we should strive for.

Cheese crackers

Cheese straws are a famous southern dish and Martha Stewart’s take on it is easy and tasty! I really love these and think they make a great addition to a party that you may host or go to. I highly suggest doubling the recipe though, just an FYI.

Habanero mango mustard

So I know there’s been a lot of food in this one…but this last one is especially cool. Brought to me from Puerto Rico, I’m excited to try something that is different and has one of my favorite fruits! Trying new and unique foods is such a simple way to add some excitement and novelty to our lives…even if it costs us a few extra calories ;).

I hope your week is a good one with some things you’re excited about!

xo

Miranda

 

.

 

Leave a Reply

