Monday 5: Travel & other things I’m excited about this week.

img_5219

I hope everyone had a restful weekend! I definitely have been sleeping better and this weekend is no exception- it’s hard to put into words how exciting it is…it’s super exciting. I also had a wonderful evening on Saturday with about 25 other women, we were all served an excellent dinner by some of the men in our friend group. It was delicious and so fun! The guys were dressed up in suit and tie and us girls were also wearing our best. It was so nice to have a special occasion to celebrate (us!) and be served in such a sweet way. That was definitely the highlight of the weekend.

Here are the 5 things I’m excited about this week, I hope that even if you don’t get excited about the same things, that you’ll make your own list of things you’re excited about!

  1. Learning a new skill.

    For the past few months my brother has been teaching me to play tennis! As a highly uncoordinated and unathletic person, this has been a challenge to say the least. However I’m happy to say that I am making progress! It has been nice just to be outside and spend time with my brother. Not only that, but learning a new skill that requires concentration helps me get outside my head and my comfort zone. I think learning should never stop and I’m definitely looking forward to actually winning a game some day!

  2. Traveling! 

    Tomorrow my mom and I are heading to Philly for a work event that her company is taking part in. I am so excited about this. I love to travel and the last time mom and I went anywhere farther than the grocery store together was when I was 16! I can’t wait to explore a new place with one of my favorite people. (Recommendations on what to do/see/eat in Philly are appreciated!!)

  3. Slowing down.

    This may seem an odd thing to get excited about, but as someone who tends to spread herself too thin, being at an appropriate level of ‘busy’ feels great. I had to say ‘no’ to a couple of things I wanted to be a part of but knew were not the ‘best yes.’ That has made it easier for me to focus on a few priorities for now and therefore do a better job in each of them. Saying ‘no’ is not fun, or easy; especially in a culture that glorifies busy. But it’s so crucial to stay focused on what is actually important to you and practice self-care, that is when you are of most service to others.

  4. Budgeting.

    This has definitely been a tough one, but so rewarding! With school and a few other major expenses popping up recently, I really had to start paying attention to my spending. My mom and I sat down and accounted all my income and expenses to get a clearer idea of what I can spend on things I don’t really need (ex on coffee or eating out or new clothes etc). Though kind of tedious and scary, I feel better knowing exactly where my finances lie and how I can make the most of it.

  5. A clean car.

    Okay, I’ll admit this is a super weird one, but I am excited to have a clean car! (Maybe I need to do more exciting things..?) But this weekend I went to a vacuum station and picked up the small beach that had accumulated inside my Honda. Now every time I get in my car it feels relaxing instead of slightly stressful. Yay for the little things in life!

    Here’s to a new week with new adventures in store.

xo

Miranda

One thought on “Monday 5: Travel & other things I’m excited about this week.

  1. Excellent!!!

    To your conversation imagination!

    Laura

    *Laura M. Camacho, PhDCEO + Communication Strategist* *laura@mixonian.com * * @themixonian*

    To sign up for our biweekly updates click HERE .

    On Mon, Oct 24, 2016 at 11:47 AM, First Class Act wrote:

    > Miranda Kate posted: ” I hope everyone had a restful weekend! I definitely > have been sleeping better and this weekend is no exception- it’s hard to > put into words how exciting it is…it’s super exciting. I also had a > wonderful evening on Saturday with about 25 other women, w” >

Leave a Reply

