Monday 5: Flannel & other things I’m excited about this week.

img_5091

Happy Monday!! I hope you had a good weekend and a good start to your week. This weekend my aunt Carrie (owner of Neatsmart) and her husband came to visit and we had a blast! One of my favorite parts of having visitors in town is taking them to some of my favorite spots. This weekend we went to Pitt St Bridge, Mercantile and Mash and a new boutique I hadn’t checked out called The Indigo Market!

miranda-and-carrie

Having said that, here are 5 things I’m excited about. I hope you make your own list to give your Monday a little pep (I know I definitely needed that this morning)!

Flannel

Fall is here! And while it definitely hasn’t gotten cold here in Charleston (like, not even close) it has cooled down a bit and I’ve gotten to wear flannel a couple of times! I love how soft and comforting it feels, and how it goes so well with a vest and pearls! I’m definitely looking forward to wearing flannel more as the temperature (eventually) goes down more.

#sleepgoals

A common theme in my life is my ongoing struggle with getting good sleep. It seems as though I’m not the only one, as according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 30% of Americans are sleep deprived! #nobueno. While I’ve been aware of this for a while and made some changes accordingly, I’ve decided to really make it a goal of mine to sleep better by setting some #sleepgoals and working toward them daily with concrete steps to make it easier.

winnie the pooh sleep animated GIF

Phineas and Ferb

I think I mentioned this in a recent post, but for the past few weeks I’ve been watching Phineas as Ferb pretty deligently. It started out as a technique to calm down the 5-month-old I nanny for and then turned into a fascination of my own with the creativity and humor of the show! The writers are so clever about the stories and songs while retaining the innocence that makes it appealing to you know, the intended audience. It’s been refreshing to find a current Disney show that has quality content that appeals to both children and parents (and their nannies).
PS: the baby I nanny for and I no longer are watching Phineas & Ferb since I learned TV can be overstimulating for infants…we have now moved on to reading instead.

phineas and ferb animated GIF

A tale of two brains

This video was shared with me last week and I thought it was so great! This psychologist approaches the differences between the brains of men and women in an extremely amusing and entertaining way. Sometimes I think we can be such a mystery to each other, it’s hard for us women to really understand what men are thinking (which is not much…according to this guy) so information like this can be super helpful! Definitely recommend giving it a watch, link here.

Mindspirit.com

This site was introduced to me by the same psychologist who taught me about mindfulness. This website integrates the mind and spirit with information about different issues we face emotionally, mentally and spiritually and how to take care of your whole person (as opposed to just your physical body or mind). This has some great content and is easy to follow!

I hope everyone has a wonderful Monday and rest of your week! Remember to practice some self-care and maybe even do something outside of your routine ;).

xo

Miranda

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

