Monday 5: October & other things I’m excited about this week.

img_4777

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend, I can’t believe October is here! This morning was brisk and that in itself is very exciting. Here is my list of all the things I’m excited about this week, I think it’s going to be a good one!

October. 

I’m so glad we live in a world where there are Octobers. L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

It’s a new month!!! I love any new month as it can be a fresh start and a good opportunity to reassess your goals and evaluate progress you’re making. October is especially exciting as it is typically the first month here in Charleston to bring a genuine change in temperature from the Summer heat. Yesterday morning marked the first time my brother wore a hoodie since the beginning of Spring- an important milestone in our journey to the cooler months. The change of weather can be invigorating and enables us to enjoy Fall things more (ex: sweaters, boots, pumpkin spice lattes, etc).

 

Pumpkin everything

Speaking of pumpkins…

Pumpkin everything is an important part of Fall, and one I am eager to embrace. I am especially excited to try some new pumpkin recipes. This pull-apart loaf with cinnamon glaze looks delicious, as do these different roasted pumpkin seeds.

 

Disney movies/soundtracks

As you may remember, I recently started nannying for a 5-month-old baby girl. Since we spend most of the day together three days a week, I’ve tried to find family friendly music and movies/tv for us to watch/listen to while we’re together. And I know you may be thinking, ‘Miranda, she’s 5 months old, she isn’t going to understand anything you show her.’ And you’re probably right. However, I think it is still better to surround her with positive and wholesome media from beginning…just in case. So far we’ve watched High School Musical, Yours, Mine & Ours, Phineas & Ferb, and listened to the soundtracks of Tangled and Enchanted.

 

Kiawah Island

This weekend my brother and I ventured to Kiawah Island, a 45 minute drive away from where we live. The drive itself makes the trip worth it, so beautiful! Once you’re there, some of the views are pretty spectacular, and there is also a super cute shopping center with stores and a few restaurants by the water. Loved that they had a Lilly store and Vineyard Vines!

 

This Lilly dress.img_4797

I found this one in the re-sale store I talked about in my Atlanta edition of the Monday 5 a few weeks ago. I love that color and style…I feel like a princess every time I wear it! It’s the best feeling when you find a dress that you love and fits you well at a bargain. I think it’s important to have at least a couple of dresses that are really special and do make us feel like royalty when we wear them. Not to be vain, but to celebrate our beauty! It is a gift that we are given as women and I think often we forget…but it’s so important! Dresses like this one help us remember the beauty and dignity we have and how powerful that can be.

 

I hope your week is off to a good start and that you’ll make your own list of things you’re exited about!

xo

Miranda

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

