Monday 5: Atlanta edition

img_4547

Happy Monday!! I hope everyone had a good weekend and a restful Labor day last week! This past Friday I headed to Marietta, GA, a suburban area a little outside Atlanta. My aunt/godmother, Carrie and her husband live there and I went to spend the weekend with them! I love traveling in general and Atlanta is a fun city to visit. Especially if you have an amazing hostess/tour guide like I did! Similar to my post about Little Washington, here I’ve put the top 5 things I’m excited about in Atlanta.

Labels.

This is probably my all-time favorite store. Located in Buckhead, Labels has four little houses in the same neighborhood for you to choose from. One for shoes and purses, one for dresses/formal-wear, one for children’s clothes and one for everything else (jeans, tops, athletic wear, skirts etc). All the clothes are designer brand that are being re-sold. I have gotten some amazing pieces there, including one of my favorite Lilly Pulitzer dresses, a skirt by Ann Mashburn (pictured above), Jack Rodgers and several awesome J.Crew pieces. With great prices and an amazing selection, what more can a girl ask for?

Star Provisions.img_4521

For lunch on Saturday Carrie took me to a restaurant/market located on the West Side called Star Provisions. Not only is it super cute and in a great little shopping center, the food is amazing. I ordered a shrimp po’ boy (pic above) and it’s definitely one of the best ones I ever had. They also have incredible baked goods and coffee if you want to just sit and have a snack. Carrie always gets the Parmesan sandwich that she says is one of her absolute faves and gets every time.

Mount Kennesaw.

Though we didn’t make it this time, most Christmas/Thanksgivings that we’ve spent at Carrie’s we go climb Mount Kennesaw. Located between Kennesaw and Marietta, GA, this battlefield park is close by and the perfect getaway when you feel a little overwhelmed by the city. As much as I love to shop and sight-see, I also need time outdoors and Mount Kennesaw is the perfect place to go for a morning hike! The view at the top is spectacular and just to spend some time outside being active makes the climb so worth it.

SCAD Museum of Fashion

IMG_4518.JPG

One of the main reasons I wanted to go to Atlanta this particular weekend was to see the Carolina Herrera exhibit at the SCAD FASH Museum. This was definitely worth the trip as the exhibit was beautiful (99 dresses designed by Ms Herrera) and they also had a special showing of Bill Cunningham photographs! If you are able to go before September 25th, I highly recommend these two exhibits there. I’m not sure what they will put up next but you can stay informed here. Definitely a fun and different outing!

Simplyput paper and gift.

img_4524

We came across this store after lunch at the Westside Urban Market. This shop has hilarious and adorable stationary along with other office supplies and cute gift ideas. Small and chic, it’s a great place to browse even if you’re not looking to do a lot of shopping! And if you are looking to make a purchase, the stationary is really awesome.

Hope this gives your Monday a little pep and starts your week off right! Remember if nothing on this list excites you to make your own Monday 5 of things you really are excited for this week 😉

Here’s to making every day (even Monday’s) amazing.

xo

Miranda

One thought on “Monday 5: Atlanta edition

  1. Pingback: Monday 5: Needlepoint hats & other things to be excited about this week | First Class Act

Leave a Reply

