Monday 5: This dress & other things I’m excited about

IMG_6753

Happy Monday! I hope you’re starting off the week well-rested and hopeful. I mean, if watching Michael Phelps swim another (and possibly final?) incredible race doesn’t inspire you, what can?

This weekend was fun and had quite a lot going on, including a photo shoot! Some pics are already up but more on that coming soon.

Here are the 5 things I’m excited about this week (remember to make your own list!):

This J.Crew dress.

Even though I bought this dress a few weeks ago, I had been waiting to post about it until I had some good pictures because I love it so much and wanted to do it justice! So pretty, summery and classy, the second I saw it I knew I had to get it. I love this style and think it is so classic- and a good fit for pretty much every body type!

IMG_6629

As you know, my main mission with FCA is to ‘bring classy back,’ and though not the end-all, be-all, how we dress is an important part of that. I really believe the clothes we wear are a reflection of our personality, dignity and beauty as women. So, being picky about the clothes we buy is absolutely essential! Finding pieces I really love and are a good fit is really hard. So, when  I found this dress and it fit so well, it was super exciting.

IMG_6616

80’s Mercedes by Maren Morris.

I heard this song for the first time this weekend and immediately became obsessed. Since then I’ve probably listened to it approximately 15 times. It is so catchy and fun! I also think the message is a good one. Feeling like a ‘hard-to-get starlet’ is something we should all embrace! Although I drive a Honda and not a Mercedes, I still jam out to this song while I’m driving (or at the gym…or in my house) and love it.

Lemon blueberry muffins.

I have a thing for muffins. Especially blueberry ones. And I love lemon. Like, love it. So when I found a recipe for lemon blueberry muffins in this cook book, needless to say I was very excited about it. I’m trying it this afternoon and can’t wait to see how it goes! I also love baking, so extra enthusiasm for that, too.

Returning to Best Kept Self (sort of).

Earlier this month I left my full-time job; as scary as it was, I know it was the right decision. I wanted to have more freedom to work on FCA and dedicate my time to other things I’m passionate about. Serendipitously, my boss at my previous internship approached me last week about helping out with editorial again! I loved editing while I was there and am excited to do it again, even though it isn’t an internship but more of an as-needed basis. If you haven’t read their articles already, I highly recommend stopping by Best Kept Self– they have some wonderful contributors who really get self-care.

My rosebush.

IMG_3825

Part of the mindufulness training course is taking care of a plant. This was perfect for me as over a year ago I planted a rosebush in the front yard that then died (or appeared to) pretty soon after. Not surprised by this (I’ve never exactly been much of a green thumb), I resigned myself to the fact that I would just never be a successful plant caretaker. However when the opportunity arose for me to try again, I decided to give the rosebush another shot. I replanted it in better soil and have been really consistent about watering it (probably things I should have done from the beginning); and it now has not one – but two roses on it! This may seem like an odd thing to get excited about but there is something really gratifying about seeing something you care for and put effort into, grow. Now every morning as soon I start my coffee, I run out and spend a few minutes caring for the rosebush- it has become something I really look forward to.

3 thoughts on “Monday 5: This dress & other things I’m excited about

  1. Love your posts and your pictures are so gorgeous- you simply radiate joy! You are beautiful inside and out!
    P.S. I have been stalking that dress online ever since you posted this… Ordered it in blue this morning when they finally had my size.

Leave a Reply

