A First Class Act: Shelli

Yikes! It’s cold out there, am I the only one who never feels properly warm from November until May? BRRRRRR

I am SO excited to introduce my new segment starting this week: A First Class Act. I’ve been working on it for a while and it consists of an interview with someone who is a good example of a First Class Act. The idea is to inspire and motivate you with the stories of these incredible young ladies!

When I first started thinking about this segment, my friend Shelli was one of the first people who came to mind. She and I have known each other since high school, we were stand partners in orchestra and also partners in crime! We always tried to convince substitute teachers to let us go to the “library” (aka home) when our orchestra conductor was absent. (Hey, no one’s perfect).

Shelli and I attended the Dover Quartet performance earlier this semester, such a great night!

Shelli and I attended the Dover Quartet performance earlier this semester, such a great night!

Since I’ve gotten to know her better, Shelli has been such an inspiration to me. Not only is she one of the sweetest and most genuine people you will ever meet, she also has accomplished so much! She has a third-degree black belt in Karate, she is the Southeast collegiate triathlon female champion AND a recently-accepted Medical University of South Carolina student.

I mean, if that’s not an impressive resume, I don’t know what is.

A few days ago Shelli and I met up for lunch at this delicious restaurant called Pot Belli Deli, so good! (Shelli and I also share an ardent passion for good food). She was kind enough to allow me to ask her a few questions so that I could share her inspiring story with you. I hope she is as much of an inspiration to you as she has been to me throughout the years.

With all the things you’ve accomplished throughout the years, what has been your motivation to work so hard?

Throughout high school, having health issues myself I realized that I had like a certain compassion for people and I think that’s what motivated me to go into medicine in general. When I came to college I wanted to set myself up well to do other things. And along and along with every test, every class having that goal [of being a doctor] in my heart gave me the motivation to put in serious effort. It’s something I’m passionate about and I think uses my talents well.

On a day that you’re really tired, unmotivated, burnt out, what is something you do to help yourself push through? 

I’ve been pretty good about setting a good schedule, so if I’m tired I’m going to sleep. If I don’t sleep I’m not going to be efficient, at all. So I try to find a good balance of when to push myself and when to just take a break. I try to be proactive about things in general, I mean if I know I have a test, I’m not going to start studying the day before. That overall has kept me from having days where I feel exhausted, so staying ahead has helped a lot. I stick to normal hours instead of trying to pull all-nighters, I imagine that is very taxing on your body. But I think also having that goal in mind, I know what it takes to get into med school and like I said, every test I took had a weight. Like alright, this is important to my future. And you know, some people don’t have that but just a general vision to be set up well when you graduate should help carry you through.

What is your favorite way of taking care of yourself?

Cooking definitely. I love to cook, I love cooking for myself and I love cooking for others. I get a lot of pleasure in planning my dinner or even spontaneously baking some cookies. Cooking provides a good balance for my love of exercise, I love to feed my body well, you know, food is fuel.

What was the hardest part about adjusting college life?

Learning to prioritize and be an efficient student. You know, when I came to college I wasn’t very good at studying, I did it a lot but missed out on a lot of other opportunities. As time went by and I learned to become a more efficient student I was able to partake in more social activities. For me, being a good student was easier to make plans for than making plans with friends, because of my personality. Now I try to be intentional with the relationships that I have and I’m finally learning to keep that up.

So you gotten into med school, you’ve won multiple triathlons, what is a goal you’re working toward now?

All these things are what I do, not who I am. They don’t define me as a person. So really realizing that they’re not the most important things and strengthening my relationship with God which is more rewarding than any triathlon or getting into med school. I’m also trying to learn moderation which helps me find balance and peace. It’s easy to be polarized, moderation isn’t as defined. It doesn’t have a cookie-cutter pattern.


Thank you so much Shelli for sharing with us.

I especially loved what she said about moderation, such a great goal to work toward!

“I’m also trying to learn moderation which helps me find balance and peace. It’s easy to be polarized, moderation isn’t as defined. It doesn’t have a cookie-cutter pattern.” 


Let me know what you thought, is this helpful? Tweet me at @mkmixon or comment below.

Here’s to living inspired!

Miranda

One thought on “A First Class Act: Shelli

Leave a Reply

