Be Brave

anythig

Recently I have (quite happily) come into some clarity about what I want to do with my life beyond college and what I need to do to get there. As graduation gets closer the fact that I am getting a better understanding of what I want to do is definitely good news! There are a few drawbacks however, that I have found to setting concrete goals.

1) You realize how much you have to do. Accomplishing dreams is hard work. (Who knew right?) And even though it is all very exciting, it is also overwhelming and intimidating.

2) That little voice in the back of your mind...it’s funny how once you have a concrete goal to work toward instead of a general idea, how much louder that voice that says ‘you can’t do this’ gets.

3) Not everyone will like it. For the most part, I am blessed to have people I’m close to who believe in me and my dreams. However there are also a few who care about me and love me but are unsure of the route I’m taking. There are also many others I’m not as close to who highly doubt it is possible, (but who cares about them?). It can be discouraging when someone who knows you and who you love is doubtful of what you can accomplish.

After I had my little breakthrough all these realizations hit me and it wasn’t a great feeling. But I realized that every person who has ever accomplished anything has had to endure this. Doubts both from yourself and from others, an immense amount of work ahead of you and a million good reasons why you shouldn’t do what you want to…people who succeed move past this, those who don’t stay where they are.

I realized that now that I have a solid idea of what it is I want to do I have to be brave. I have to be brave enough to believe in myself regardless of what anyone else thinks, I have to have courage and grit to accomplish all the work that needs to be done and I have to be brave by persisting even when it seems impossible.

best


“I know the price of success: dedication, hard work, and an unremitting devotion to things you want to see happen.” Frank Lloyd Wright.


be brave

If you know what you want to do (and even if you don’t) be brave. Know that it is only possible if you believe it is.

xx

Miranda

Leave a Reply

