Bringing Classy BACK

audrey

A couple of days ago my mom sent me an email with this article. It’s written by Jennifer L. Scott, one of my favorite bloggers/authors. I know I’ve talked about her book “Lessons from Madame Chic” before and her capsule wardrobe idea (both of which I love). Today I am going to talk about her yet again, (#stalkerstatus) but this time I want to discuss this article she wrote. If you have time, you should really check it out. It’s about how pop culture has progressively gotten more and more…not classy (to put it mildly). One of the examples she gave was Anaconda by Nicki Minaj which if you’ve seen the video or even placed the slightest attention to the lyrics, you know why this is a good example. What blows my mind is how popular this song is, why is this type of music dominating our culture today?

Anyway, later that day I was in my history of Broadway class and we were watching a video of The Beatles singing ‘I want to hold your hand,’ and in that moment, it just hit me how different things were then, I mean pop songs now aren’t about holding hands…today in fashion there seems to be a ‘the less there is the better’ rule with clothes, promoting a huge jump in eating disorders, especially in pre-teen to college-aged girls. What happened to icons of class like Audrey Hepburn? Why are we okay with this being the norm?

There is so much strength in being your authentic self, so much beauty in dressing with class, so much power in not needing a certain type of attention to give you confidence.


“It is much more noticeable to be a class act than a trash act.” – Jennifer. L. Scott


This song by Colbie Caillat is one of the rare examples today of pop culture that doesn’t encourage or condone us trying so hard to be the way pop culture wants us to be, and I love it.

I want to challenge you to bring classy back: Wear clothes because you think they’re beautiful, not because you think you’ll get more attention from guys. Be healthy because it feels good and is good for you, not because you think it will make you look good in those microscopic shorts. Smart is sexy. Poise and grace are fascinating. You are perfect.

What do you define ‘classy’ as?

xx

Miranda

One thought on “Bringing Classy BACK

  1. I’m so glad you put this out there. More and more girls are talking about “bringing classy back” embracing values, and making it okay to dismiss what pop culture presents as the “norm” for young women 🙂 Thank you xx

Leave a Reply

