Labor Day weekend in Charleston

Aren’t long weekends the best? It’s only been two weeks since school started back up but my goodness it was good to have a little break. Earlier this summer, my mom let me know that she was hosting an end-of-summer dinner party this weekend and that attendance was not optional. Of course I did not need telling twice, I love any opportunity to go to Charleston and I knew I would get to eat a lot of great food.

I arrived Friday afternoon and my sister and I went walking in the ‘old Mt.Pleasant’  area (near Pitt street) by the water, it was so beautiful (albeit hot) and a great way to unwind.

Displaying IMG_6342.JPG

White jeans by Citizens of Humanity, top by American Eagle, crossbody bag by Anne Klein.

 

pitt st

It was really hot, but how can you not enjoy this view?

Saturday was mostly spent getting everything ready, if you’ve ever hosted a party before then you know that it is a lot of work. My mom was a champ getting it all done and we helped in any way we could. I did sneak away in the afternoon to take Rimsky (our Boykin Spaniel) for a walk. I love going on long walks, I think they’re very therapeutic (plus you get some exercise!), and luckily for me there are many beautiful places to walk in Charleston.

I love, love this entryway Rimsky and I came across, it is so serene and chic at the same time.

I love, love this entryway Rimsky and I came across, it is so serene and chic at the same time.

Saturday evening was the party, it was so much fun and (as expected) the food was incredible. It was nice to catch up friends and family I hadn’t seen in a while, (hi neatsmart!) and to meet more of my mom’s friends.

This was taken in my backyard, I got this Lilly dress last summer and it's still one of my favorites.

This was taken a little bit before everyone started to arrive. I got this Lilly dress last summer and it’s still one of my favorites.

Sunday we had a delish brunch with family at the house and then we all went to do a little bit of shopping. I took another walk with Rimsky in the afternoon and then we all went to dinner at a seafood restaurant called Vickery’s. We love Vickery’s; it’s on the water and the food is amazing, I ordered a crab cake sandwich and did not leave a single bite. I met with my friend Ali whom I hadn’t seen in months, I was so happy that she was able to to take the time out of her busy schedule to come to dinner with us.

Good food, even better company.

Good food, even better company.

Monday morning my sister and I ran the Ravenel bridge (okay, not the whole thing), but still. It was hard to get up but totally worth it. We got to see the sun rise as we ran over the water and I felt very grateful that I could a) run and b) do so in such a beautiful place.

One of my favorite places to run.

One of my favorite places to run.

Later that morning we met up with my aunt and uncle for a delicious breakfast at the cutest little coffee shop called Collective Coffee. Upon my sister’s insistence I ordered their pimento cheese biscuit which comes with egg, cheese and bacon. Oh my goodness, so good.

Displaying IMG_6467.JPG

I heart breakfast food.

 

See? Long weekends are the best.

How was your Labor Day weekend?

2 thoughts on “Labor Day weekend in Charleston

Leave a Reply

