Summer 2014

summer collage

The 30 Day Health Challenge has started and so far I’ve really enjoyed it. I think eating healthy can be so fun and exciting (is that dorky?), I’ve been cooking foods that are nutritious (and delicious), so far they’ve all been a success; so weird.  I’ve also been reading Cameron Diaz’s ‘The Body Book.’ I highly recommend it. I know what it sounds like, I mean Cameron Diaz is an actress, and yes she’s beautiful, but what does she know about nutrition? I was skeptical when I first picked it up but I read the introduction out of curiosity and loved it. She has a very conversational, chatty voice that makes it easy to read. There’s also a lot of important information that in the hands of someone else would probably sound over  my head. She also did a lot of research for this book and has the information from nutritional experts, so it’s not just her opinion!

If you’re interested in becoming healthier but you’re not sure how to start, this book is a good way to get informed so you can make smart decisions about your health.

I still can’t believe that school’s out. Even though I’ve been looking forward to it for months, it seems unreal that I’m really done. (By the way if you’re still in school I’m really sorry, me rubbing this in your face is probably not helping). These past few days have been awesome, I’ve been in Charleston and as you guys already know, Charleston is one of my favorite places in the world. Since summer just started for me a few days ago, I’ve been figuring out what exactly I want to do for the next few months. As I mentioned in my last post, I think it’s important to have plans, goals for summer, to use this time to work on things we maybe typically don’t have time for during the summer. For me these things are: yoga, cooking, exercise, and blogging. All these are activities that I do during the school year but not as often or consistently as I would like.

I want to encourage all of you to figure out some things that maybe you don’t have as much time for during the school year but would like to work on. Now is a great time to do it! Once you figured what you want to do, write it down. Don’t just make a mental list, half of accomplishing goals is writing them down. Make a list and put it somewhere you can see it everyday. Read it everyday. It’s not just there for decoration, reminding yourself of your purpose daily is what keeps you motivated and working toward it. After you’ve written it down, make a vision board. I’ve written about these before and seriously they are the best. First of all just making them is so much fun, I like to listen to fun, upbeat music with a pile of magazines at my side and just cut out everything that might serve to inspire me. And looking at it everyday is such a great way to inspire you and remind you of what you want and why you’re getting up early to run or taking time to cook or read. Seriously, do it.

I hope you all  are having a lovely weekend, if you have any thoughts or questions about summer plans/goals tell me! As always, I love to hear from you guys.

Good luck!

Miranda

One thought on “Summer 2014

  1. I’m working on my vision board and have been gathering pictures. Love the suggestions and you’re so right about writing things down. I need to get better at that!

Leave a Reply

