30 Day Challenge

30 day

Halfway through the week! I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that this is my last week of class, so crazy! But I can’t really say I’m not looking forward to summer either, I mean like, really looking forward to it. One of the things I love most about summer is that even while working and spending time with friends and family, I usually have a lot more time to work on me. I think it’s important to take advantage of the months we have ahead of us and not just veg in front of the tv. So of course I’ve been planning what I want to work on and here’s what I have so far:

Learning to cook a wider variety of (delicious, healthy) foods.

Exercising 6 days a week (yikes!)

Practicing yoga daily

Reading good books. My reading list will be up soon!

And of course, blogging more and working on First Class Act!

Even though I’m a little intimidated by this list, I’m also super excited. All of these are things I try to work on during the school year but am not able to be as consistent because of, you know, school. So, having said all this, my 30 Day Challenge (starting May 1st) is this: Eat healthy for 30 days. Pretty straightforward right? I really don’t like the word diet. It implies a quick fix to something that really needs to be a permanent change. For this reason I’m not putting a ton of rules on what I can or can’t eat, I’ll have a few guidelines and that should be it. With this I’m hoping to work on my cooking skills and to start a healthier lifestyle. The idea isn’t to go on a binge as soon as May is over, this is supposed to be an intro to a whole new, healthier lifestyle.

To have a better idea of what I mean, here are a few guidelines:

1) Fruits/Veggies should be the main component of most meals.

2) Juice! Put some avocado, cucumber, celery and spinach in the blender and bam! Delicious and nutritious.

3) Replace sugary, high-cal, caffeinated drinks with plain coffee (not black though, ugh), herbal or green tea.

4) Stay away from desserts. Not all, you can be the judge of how much you should eat of the sweets. I’m going to say one dessert a week is okay for me. If you have a sweet tooth try some dark chocolate or some fruit.

5) Cut down on the snacks. Snacking is good because it keeps us from overeating at meals, but they should 1) be healthy and 2) not fill you up completely, just hold you over until the next meal. Some good snacks are: plain almonds, plain greek yogurt (with honey), fruit, a few crackers with peanut butter, or a cheese stick. Sometimes even a tea will do the trick depending on how hungry you are.

6) Be mindful. It’s so easy to keep eating even after we’re no longer hungry. But it is not a good thing. Be aware while you eat: chew slowly, take a break between bites and stop once you feel satisfied (not full).

7) Pay attention to serving size. This is easier when you are the one cooking. If you go out to eat or someone else cooks for you, make sure that you don’t eat everything that’s on your plate just because it’s there or because you’ll feel guilty if you don’t. With restaurants be extra careful since most of the time they serve more than we really should eat. When you’re cooking use small plates to serve.

8) Hydrate! Sometimes we can mistake hunger for thirst so make sure you’re getting plenty of H20.

I’m looking forward to seeing how this goes, if you decide to participate, tell me! Email or comment below. And if during the challenge you feel your motivation draining come to First Class Act and I’ll make sure to keep you inspired.

Good luck!

Miranda

PS: the pic I posted is from a lovely postcard that came with a perfume by Atelier Cologne. I love the perfume, it smells amazing and I thought the post card was so cool!

 

Leave a Reply

