Let it Go

Right now I’m reading a book recommended by Jennifer Scott, who I have mentioned before because she wrote one of my favorite books called “Lessons from Madame Chic.” In her blog (The Daily Connoisseur) she recommended “The Untethered Soul” by Michael A. Singer. In it Singer talks about getting past your emotions and finding out who you really are apart from them. One of the lessons he most emphasizes on is letting go. I know our emotions can often get the best of us (me, all the time) so I found this really helpful and decided to write about it. I’m giving a very condensed version so definitely check out the book too!

Some days you’ll start out feeling really good: you’re singing, smiling, loving the whole world… and then something will happen; for example, someone honks at you on your way to work, or you get a bad grade on an assignment or (even worse) a test. Maybe someone said something that irritated you or just rubbed you the wrong way…these things happen on a regular basis, and even though most of them are trivial, they have a way of sneaking into our thoughts over and over again that takes away any joy we had when we first started out the day. Ugh. 

This happens to me all the time and its really frustrating because it seems like it’s these insignificant moments that drain the energy and happiness right out of my soul, (that sounds really melodramatic). To prevent this cycle of unhappiness, Singer says that we need to be “open.” When we are “open” we are relaxed, content and calm. A lot of days we start out “open”, the thing is not to “close” when someone honks at you, or criticizes you or whatever else the case may be.

Recently I’ve been practicing so that whenever something happens that makes me tense up I force myself to admit that I am upset, understand why and then just let the feeling pass through me. For a moment it doesn’t feel good, it’s hard because we are so used to holding on to these little irritations. But every  time I’ve chosen to let go, it makes such a difference. I feel like a weight is off my shoulders and I am able to focus so much more on what is really important.

let it go

This week challenge yourself to let go any time you feel upset. Admit to yourself that you are irritated/angry/sad and be able to understand why. Then allow your body to relax and just let go of that feeling. It is definitely easier said then done but you are not the emotions you experience! And it is not worth all the time spent feeling sad when there is so many reasons to feel happy. Don’t let the little things take over your life, take a deep breath and let go. Then go check out “The Untethered Soul” by Michael Singer, let me know what your thoughts are!

Have a great, calm, content week!

Miranda

One thought on “Let it Go

  1. This is such an important message and one that you have to relearn over an over but it makes such a difference in your attitude and thus how you experience life. Great post (again!).

Leave a Reply

