Why It’s important to take care of yourself.

So maybe you read the title of this post and said, duh. I mean taking care of yourself seems kind of a no-brainer. But it’s amazing how many people actually do not take care of themselves. Especially in college, you’re away from your parents who tell you to take your vitamins, go to sleep and eat your vegetables. With classes to study for, social events to attend and people to text it seems like actually cooking a healthy meal and getting eight hours of sleep are commodities that we simply do not have time for. The thing is, they actually aren’t commodities, they are absolutely vital to our health. Up until recently I also regarded things like healthy food, exercise, sufficient sleep, and “me time” as unnecessary. As a result I became constantly stressed and did not meet my usual standards of school work and social behavior, (I can be extremely unpleasant when I’m tired/hungry). I know I am not the only college student to experience this, I am constantly surrounded by people complaining that they only got four hours of sleep the night before, had ramen for dinner and haven’t been to the gym in two weeks. The excuse is almost always the same: I don’t have time. As I have recently learned, there actually is time to do these things. Here is a condensed list of ways to stay healthy within a tight time limit:

1) Recognize that your health is a priority. It is, and you will be so much happier once you feel great about yourself. I promise. Good health is not just the absence of illness, it is a state of mind and body described as “wellness” (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/wellness?s=t). It takes time and effort to achieve true health.

2) Say NO to drama. I know so many people who leave things until last minute because they love the drama. They love to complain about how they don’t have time and haven’t slept or eaten for three days etc etc. No one likes to hear you whine, so just be responsible, eat right and get sleep.

3) Make a schedule. I have everyday of the week planned out down to almost the minute. This may seem extreme but  to get it all done and keep up with my health habits, it is helpful to know exactly what I’m supposed to be doing when. Take a few minutes to look at your schedule and figure out when you are going to do everything. Make time for homework, exercise, sleep, a few minutes of downtime before sleep, meals and friends.

4) Be disciplined. This is difficult, I know. But it is vital to success. The easy part is writing down a schedule, but sticking to it is another story. This has always been a struggle for me but what really helped me make it was this: act as if you didn’t have a choice. If you just look at your schedule and say, okay next I have to study for biology, instead of battling whether or not you “feel like it” you will be so much more efficient.

5) Make a meal plan. If you have a meal plan with the dining halls or something of the sort you don’t have to worry about this, just make sure to carefully select what you want to eat and not automatically go for a burger. If you don’t have a meal plan, every weekend make a list of meals you want to eat and buy the ingredients. This will save you so much time and energy!

This is a SUPER condensed list, there are a million of other things that healp to save time and stay healthy but hopefully this will help.

taking care of yourself

What are your health tips? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading!

Miranda

One thought on “Why It’s important to take care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

